Principal Investigator

Martin.png

Martin Ordonez

Canada Research Chair
Professor, UBC

Power Converters for Renewable Energy Systems

mordonez@ieee.org

LinkedIn

 

Lab Operations & Support

  Ion Isbasescu   UBC Energy Systems Engineer   isbi@ece.ubc.ca    LinekdIn

Ion Isbasescu

UBC Energy Systems Engineer

isbi@ece.ubc.ca

LinekdIn

  Lucas Sinopoli   Operations Manager   lucas.sinopoli@ieee.org    LinkedIn

Lucas Sinopoli

Operations Manager

lucas.sinopoli@ieee.org

LinkedIn

 

Post-Doctoral Fellows

  Moein Manbachi   UBC Postdoctoral Fellow   moeinmanbachi@ece.ubc.ca    LinkedIn

Moein Manbachi

UBC Postdoctoral Fellow

moeinmanbachi@ece.ubc.ca

LinkedIn

  Qingsong (Charlie) Wang   UBC Postdoctoral Fellow   qingsongwang@ieee.org    LinkedIn

Qingsong (Charlie) Wang

UBC Postdoctoral Fellow

qingsongwang@ieee.org

LinkedIn

  Mohammad Mahdavi Mazdeh   UBC Postdoctoral Fellow   mahdavi@ece.ubc.ca    LinkedIn

Mohammad Mahdavi Mazdeh

UBC Postdoctoral Fellow

mahdavi@ece.ubc.ca

LinkedIn

  Rouhollah Shafaei   UBC Postdoctoral Fellow   rshafaei@ece.ubc.ca    LinkedIn

Rouhollah Shafaei

UBC Postdoctoral Fellow

rshafaei@ece.ubc.ca

LinkedIn

Graduate Students

  Daniel Hsu   M.A.Sc. Student   danielhsu@ece.ubc.ca    LinkedIn

Daniel Hsu

M.A.Sc. Student

danielhsu@ece.ubc.ca

LinkedIn

  Ettore Scabeni Glitz   M.A.Sc. Student   ettoreglitz@ieee.org    LinkedIn

Ettore Scabeni Glitz

M.A.Sc. Student

ettoreglitz@ieee.org

LinkedIn

  Francisco Paz   Ph.D. Student   franciscopaz@ieee.org    LinkedIn

Francisco Paz

Ph.D. Student

franciscopaz@ieee.org

LinkedIn

  Franco Degioanni   Ph.D. Student   fdegioanni@ieee.org    LinkedIn

Franco Degioanni

Ph.D. Student

fdegioanni@ieee.org

LinkedIn

  Gabriel Ferreira   M.A.Sc. Student   gabrielfs@ece.ubc.ca    LinkedIn

Gabriel Ferreira

M.A.Sc. Student

gabrielfs@ece.ubc.ca

LinkedIn

  German Nahuel Bogado   M.A.Sc. Student   gbogado@ece.ubc.ca    LinkedIn

German Nahuel Bogado

M.A.Sc. Student

gbogado@ece.ubc.ca

LinkedIn

  Hamed Valipour   Ph.D.Student   hamed.valipour.v@ieee.org    LinkedIn

Hamed Valipour

Ph.D.Student

hamed.valipour.v@ieee.org

LinkedIn

  Ignacio Galiano   Ph.D.Student   igaliano@ieee.org    LinkedIn

Ignacio Galiano

Ph.D.Student

igaliano@ieee.org

LinkedIn

  Jan Hammer   Ph.D.Student   janh@ece.ubc.ca    LinkedIn

Jan Hammer

Ph.D.Student

janh@ece.ubc.ca

LinkedIn

  Jorge May Alvarez   M.A.Sc. Student   jorgemay@ece.ubc.ca    LinkedIn

Jorge May Alvarez

M.A.Sc. Student

jorgemay@ece.ubc.ca

LinkedIn

  Maria Celeste Garcia   M.A.Sc. Student   mcele@ieee.org    LinkedIn

Maria Celeste Garcia

M.A.Sc. Student

mcele@ieee.org

LinkedIn

  Matthieu Amyotte   M.A.Sc. Student   matthieu.amyotte@ieee.org    LinkedIn

Matthieu Amyotte

M.A.Sc. Student

matthieu.amyotte@ieee.org

LinkedIn

  Mehdi Mohammadi   Ph.D. Student   mehdi.mohammadi.m@ieee.org    LinkedIn

Mehdi Mohammadi

Ph.D. Student

mehdi.mohammadi.m@ieee.org

LinkedIn

  Mohammad Ali Saket   Ph.D. Student   alisaket@ece.ubc.ca    LinkedIn

Mohammad Ali Saket

Ph.D. Student

alisaket@ece.ubc.ca

LinkedIn

  Sayed Abbas Arshadi   Ph.D. Student   arshadi@ece.ubc.ca    LinkedIn

Sayed Abbas Arshadi

Ph.D. Student

arshadi@ece.ubc.ca

LinkedIn

  Tomas Syskakis   M.A.Sc. Student   tsyskakis@ece.ubc.ca    LinkedIn

Tomas Syskakis

M.A.Sc. Student

tsyskakis@ece.ubc.ca

LinkedIn

 

Alumni

David Campos Gaona

UBC Postdoctoral Fellow
Current Occupation: Research Associate at the University of Strathclyde (United Kingdom)
davidcg@ieee.org

 

Rafael Peña-Alzola

UBC Postdoctoral Fellow
Current Occupation: Research Fellow at the Rolls Royce University Technology Centre - University of Strathclyde (United Kingdom)
rafael.pena-alzola@strath.ac.uk

 

Seyed Ali Arefifar

UBC Postdoctoral Fellow
Current Occupation: Assistant Professor at Oakland University (United States)
arefifar@ieee.org

 

Germán GUSTAVO Oggier

UBC Postdoctoral Fellow
Current Occupation: Adjunct Researcher of the National Council for Scientific and Technological Researches - CONICET (Argentina); Lecturer of the Electrical and Electronic Engineering Department at the National University of Río Cuatro (Argentina); Member of the Directory of the Applied Electronic Group at the National University of Río Cuatro (Argentina)
goggier@ieee.org

 

NAVID SHAFIEI

Doctoral Degree (2017)
Current Occupation: Power Supply Design Engineer at Alpha Technologies (Canada)
Dissertation: High Order Resonant Power Converters for Battery Charger Applications
navid@ece.ubc.ca

 

EMANUEL SERBAN

Doctoral Degree (2017)
Current Occupation: R&D Chief Engineer at Schneider Electric (Canada)
Dissertation: Advanced Control Functionalities for Photovoltaic and Energy Storage Converters
emaserban@ieee.org

 

Samuel Robert Cove

Doctoral Degree (2016)
Current Occupation: Electrical Engineering Research Engineer at Solace Power (Canada)
Dissertation: Coreless Planar Magnetic Winding Structures for Power Converters: Track-Width-Ratio

 

franco degioanni

Master's Degree (2018)
Current Occupation: UBC Ph.D. Student (Canada)
Thesis: Dual-Loop Linear Controller for LLC Resonant Converters
fdegioanni@ieee.org

 

MARCO ANDRES BIANCHI

Master's Degree (2017)
Thesis: Improving Dynamic Performance in DC Microgrids Using Trajectory Control
m.a.bianchi@ieee.org

 

Luccas Di Tullio

Master's Degree (2016)
Thesis: Optimization of a Grid-Tied Inverter: An Application-Oriented Approach for Designing Multilevel Converters
luccas.ditullio@gmail.com

 

Francisco Paz

Master's Degree (2014)
Current Occupation: UBC Ph.D. Candidate (Canada)
Thesis: Photovoltaic maximum power point tracker with zero oscillation and adaptive step
franciscopaz@ieee.org

 

Matias Anun

Master's Degree (2014)
Current Occupation: Embedded Software Developer at Alpha Technologies Ltd (Canada)
Thesis: Electric Vehicle Power Trains: High-Performance Control for Constant Power Load Stabilization
manun@ieee.org

 

Peter Ksiazek

Master's Degree (2014)
Current Occupation: Power Electronics Engineer at Alpha Technologies (Canada)
Thesis: Reduction of current/torque ripple in low power grid-tie PMSG wind turbines
peter.ksiazek@ieee.org

 

Ignacio Galiano

Master's Degree (2013)
Current Occupation: UBC Ph.D. Candidate (Canada)
Thesis: Novel concepts for power electronics control : introducing the dynamic physical limits, the average natural trajectories, and the centric-based controller
igaliano@ieee.org

 

Jason Forbes

Master's Degree (2013)
Current Occupation: Senior Software Engineer at Kraken Robotics Inc. (Canada)
Thesis: Discrete signal processing techniques for power converters : multi-carrier modulation and efficient filtering techniques
jason.g.forbes@gmail.com

 

Federico Luchino

Master's Degree (2012)
Current Occupation: Research and Project Engineer at the AOSL at Memorial University of Newfoundland
Thesis: Topology zero: Advancing theory and experimentation for power electronics education
fluchino@ymail.com

 

Lucas Sinopoli

Master's Degree (2012)
Current Occupation: Senior Embedded Software Engineer at Alpha Technologies (Canada)
Thesis: Marine Current Turbine Dynamic Electrical Emulator
lucas.sinopoli@ieee.org

 

Reza Chini

Master's Degree (2012)
Current Occupation: Project Engineer at Acero Engineering (Canada)
Thesis: Marine energy harvesting from low cut-in speeds horizontal axis ocean current turbine: design, optimization and analysis of the rotor
rezachini@gmail.com

 

Samuel Robert Cove

Master's Degree (2011)
Current Occupation: Electrical Engineering Research Engineer at Solace Power (Canada)
Thesis: Design Methodology for the Control of Planar Transformer Parasitics
srcove@ieee.org