Principal Investigator

Martin.png

Martin Ordonez

Canada Research Chair
Associate Professor, UBC

Power Converters for Renewable Energy Systems

mordonez@ieee.org

LinkedIn

 

Lab Operations & Support

Lucas Sinopoli Operations Manager lucas.sinopoli@ieee.org LinkedIn

Lucas Sinopoli

Operations Manager

lucas.sinopoli@ieee.org

LinkedIn

Ion Isbasescu UBC Energy Systems Engineer isbi@ece.ubc.ca LinekdIn

Ion Isbasescu

UBC Energy Systems Engineer

isbi@ece.ubc.ca

LinekdIn

 

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Rouhollah Shafaei UBC Postdoctoral Fellow rshafaei@ece.ubc.ca LinkedIn

Rouhollah Shafaei

UBC Postdoctoral Fellow

rshafaei@ece.ubc.ca

LinkedIn

Moein Manbachi UBC Postdoctoral Fellow moeinmanbachi@ece.ubc.ca LinkedIn

Moein Manbachi

UBC Postdoctoral Fellow

moeinmanbachi@ece.ubc.ca

LinkedIn

 

Graduate Students

Ettore Scabeni Glitz M.A.Sc. Student ettoreglitz@ieee.org LinkedIn

Ettore Scabeni Glitz

M.A.Sc. Student

ettoreglitz@ieee.org

LinkedIn

Francisco Paz Ph.D. Student franciscopaz@ieee.org LinkedIn

Francisco Paz

Ph.D. Student

franciscopaz@ieee.org

LinkedIn

Franco Degioanni M.A.Sc. Student fdegioanni@ieee.org LinkedIn

Franco Degioanni

M.A.Sc. Student

fdegioanni@ieee.org

LinkedIn

Hamed Valipour Ph.D.Student hamed.valipour.v@ieee.org LinkedIn

Hamed Valipour

Ph.D.Student

hamed.valipour.v@ieee.org

LinkedIn

Ignacio Galiano Ph.D.Student igaliano@ieee.org LinkedIn

Ignacio Galiano

Ph.D.Student

igaliano@ieee.org

LinkedIn

Marco Andres Bianchi M.A.Sc. Student m.a.bianchi@ieee.org LinkedIn

Marco Andres Bianchi

M.A.Sc. Student

m.a.bianchi@ieee.org

LinkedIn

Maria Celeste Garcia M.A.Sc. Student mcele@ieee.org LinkedIn

Maria Celeste Garcia

M.A.Sc. Student

mcele@ieee.org

LinkedIn

Matthieu Amyotte M.A.Sc. Student matthieu.amyotte@ieee.org LinkedIn

Matthieu Amyotte

M.A.Sc. Student

matthieu.amyotte@ieee.org

LinkedIn

Mehdi Mohammadi Ph.D. Student mehdi.mohammadi.m@ieee.org LinkedIn

Mehdi Mohammadi

Ph.D. Student

mehdi.mohammadi.m@ieee.org

LinkedIn

Mohammad Ali Saket Ph.D. Student alisaket@ece.ubc.ca LinkedIn

Mohammad Ali Saket

Ph.D. Student

alisaket@ece.ubc.ca

LinkedIn

Navid Shafiei Ph.D. Student navid@ece.ubc.ca LinkedIn

Navid Shafiei

Ph.D. Student

navid@ece.ubc.ca

LinkedIn

Sayed Abbas Arshadi Ph.D. Student arshadi@ece.ubc.ca LinkedIn

Sayed Abbas Arshadi

Ph.D. Student

arshadi@ece.ubc.ca

LinkedIn

Alumni

David Campos Gaona

UBC Postdoctoral Fellow
Current Occupation: Research Associate at the University of Strathclyde (United Kingdom)
davidcg@ieee.org

 

Rafael Peña-Alzola

UBC Postdoctoral Fellow
rafapeal@gmail.com

 

Seyed Ali Arefifar

UBC Postdoctoral Fellow
Current Occupation: Assistant Professor at Oakland University (United States)
arefifar@ieee.org

 

Germán Oggier

UBC Postdoctoral Fellow
Current Occupation: Adjunct Researcher of the National Council for Scientific and Technological Researches - CONICET (Argentina); Lecturer of the Electrical and Electronic Engineering Department at the National University of Río Cuatro (Argentina)
goggier@ieee.org

 

Samuel Robert Cove

Doctoral Degree (2016)
Current Occupation: Electrical Engineering Research Engineer at Solace Power (Canada)
Dissertation: Coreless Planar Magnetic Winding Structures for Power Converters: Track-Width-Ratio
srcove@ieee.org

 

Luccas Di Tullio

Master's Degree (2016)
Thesis: Optimization of a Grid-Tied Inverter: An Application-Oriented Approach for Designing Multilevel Converters
luccas.ditullio@gmail.com

 

Francisco Paz

Master's Degree (2014)
Current Occupation: UBC Ph.D. Candidate (Canada)
Thesis: Photovoltaic maximum power point tracker with zero oscillation and adaptive step
franciscopaz@ieee.org

 

Matias Anun

Master's Degree (2014)
Current Occupation: Firmware Developer at Schneider Electric (Canada)
Thesis: Electric Vehicle Power Trains: High-Performance Control for Constant Power Load Stabilization
manun@ieee.org

 

Peter Ksiazek

Master's Degree (2014)
Current Occupation: Power Electronics Engineer at Alpha Technologies (Canada)
Thesis: Reduction of current/torque ripple in low power grid-tie PMSG wind turbines
peter.ksiazek@ieee.org

 

Ignacio Galiano

Master's Degree (2013)
Current Occupation: UBC Ph.D. Candidate (Canada)
Thesis: Novel concepts for power electronics control : introducing the dynamic physical limits, the average natural trajectories, and the centric-based controller
igaliano@ieee.org

 

Jason Forbes

Master's Degree (2013)
Current Occupation: Software Engineer at Kraken Sonar Systems (Canada)
Thesis: Discrete signal processing techniques for power converters : multi-carrier modulation and efficient filtering techniques
jason.g.forbes@gmail.com

 

Federico Luchino

Master's Degree (2012)
Current Occupation: Research and Project Engineer (EIT) at the AOSL at Memorial University of Newfoundland
Thesis: Topology zero: Advancing theory and experimentation for power electronics education
fluchino@ymail.com

 

Lucas Sinopoli

Master's Degree (2012)
Current Occupation: Senior Embedded Software Engineer at Alpha Technologies (Canada)
Thesis: Marine Current Turbine Dynamic Electrical Emulator
lucas.sinopoli@ieee.org

 

Reza Chini

Master's Degree (2012)
Current Occupation: Project Engineer at Acero Engineering (Canada)
Thesis: Marine energy harvesting from low cut-in speeds horizontal axis ocean current turbine: design, optimization and analysis of the rotor
r.chini@mun.ca

 

Juan Manuel Galvez

Master's Degree (2012)
Current Occupation: Embedded Software Developer at Alpha Technologies (Canada)
Thesis: High Performance Control Technique for Boost-Derived Converters: The Natural Switching Surface
jmgalvez@ieee.org

 

Samuel Robert Cove

Master's Degree (2011)
Current Occupation: Electrical Engineering Research Engineer at Solace Power (Canada)
Thesis: Design Methodology for the Control of Planar Transformer Parasitics
srcove@ieee.org